International Student & Scholar Services

International Student & Scholar Services (ISSS) supports the greater internationalization of the University of Connecticut through the development and delivery of services and programs that help our international  students, scholars, faculty and staff accomplish their academic and professional goals at UConn.

To further this mission, we:

  • Ensure UConn’s compliance with U.S. immigration regulations governing visa sponsorship for international students, scholars, faculty, and staff.
  • Provide quality service and assistance with immigration and intercultural matters to UConn-sponsored visa holders and their families through advising, programs, workshops and events.
  • Serve as the resource for academic and administrative units in the collaboration, hiring and sponsorship of international students, scholars, faculty and staff.
  • Provide on-going orientation and support services in a welcoming environment designed to foster cultural adjustment to the U.S.
  • Build links within the UConn community via cultural activities and programs.

Advisors counsel international students and scholars on a variety of immigration/visa issues such as Practical Training, Change of Status, Program Extensions, Leave of Absence, Reduced Course Load and Employment authorizations. International Advisors are available to meet by appointment. Learn More…

Team Members

Rae Alexander, Director
Email: rae.alexander@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Arthur Galinat, Assistant Director
Email: arthur.galinat@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Neena Kapoor, International Advisor
Email: neena.kapoor@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Jennifer King, International Advisor
Email: jennifer.king@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Maximilian Kort, International Advisor
Email: maximilian.kort@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Annie Casarella, International Advisor
Email: annie.casarella@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Sarah Manning, International Advisor
Email: sarah.manning@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Dana Foster, Office Manager
Email: dana.foster@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Jason Escalera, International Services Aide
Email: jason.escalera@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Christine Xiong, Temporary University Specialist
Email: christine.xiong@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-5954


Ekaterina Barachkova, Temporary University Specialist
Email: ekaterina.barachkova@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855