Center for International Students and Scholars

The Center for International Students and Scholars serves as a hub for international students and visiting scholars to receive immigration support and engage in intercultural programs and activities. Housed within the Center are International Student & Scholar Services (ISSS), Intercultural Programs and Support, and the University of Connecticut American English Language Initiative (UCAELI).

ISSS supports the greater internationalization of the University of Connecticut through the development and delivery of services and programs that help our international  students, scholars, faculty and staff accomplish their academic and professional goals at UConn.

To further this mission, we:

  • Ensure UConn’s compliance with U.S. immigration regulations governing visa sponsorship for international students, scholars, faculty, and staff.
  • Provide quality service and assistance with immigration and intercultural matters to UConn-sponsored visa holders and their families through advising, programs, workshops and events.
  • Serve as the resource for academic and administrative units in the collaboration, hiring and sponsorship of international students, scholars, faculty and staff.
  • Provide on-going orientation and support services in a welcoming environment designed to foster cultural adjustment to the U.S.
  • Build links within the UConn community via cultural activities and programs.

Advisors counsel international students and scholars on a variety of immigration/visa issues such as Practical Training, Change of Status, Program Extensions, Leave of Absence, Reduced Course Load and Employment authorizations. International Advisors are available to meet by appointment. Learn More...

International Student & Scholar Services Team Members

Arthur Galinat, Director
Email: arthur.galinat@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Catherine Barachkova, International Services Specialist
Email: ekaterina.barachkova@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Nadine Boudissa, International Advisor
Email: nadine.boudissa@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Annie Casarella, International Advisor
Email: annie.casarella@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Lulu Dong, International Advisor
Email: lulu.dong@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Amina Kader, International Advisor
Email: amina.kader@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Neena Kapoor, International Advisor
Email: neena.kapoor@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Jennifer King, Assistant Director of SEVIS Operations
Email: jennifer.king@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Benjamin Kohanski, International Services Specialist
Email: benjamin.kohanski@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Leslie Lawrence, International Advisor
Email: leslie.lawrence@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Sarah Manning, International Advisor
Email: sarah.manning@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Abigail Novak, International Services Coordinator
Email: abigail.novak@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Eddie Pavliscsak, International Services Specialist
Email: edward.pavliscsak@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Huong Pham, International Programs Assistant
Email: huong.pham@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855


Natalia Turgeon, Front Office Coordinator
Email: international@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-3855

 

Intercultural Programs and Support provides support for international students and scholars and faculty and staff who work with our international population. UCAELI has provided English instruction to more than 3,000 students from countries throughout the world since 1990. UCAELI supports all students in pursuit of their goals by providing high quality instruction and access to the university’s academic, professional, social and cultural resources.   Learn More...

Intercultural Programs and Support Team Members

Jeannie Slayton, Ph.D., Director of Intercultural Programs and Support
Email: jeannie.slayton@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-8484


Ana Colon, Program Assistant II UCAELI
Email: ana.s.colon@uconn.edu
Phone: 860-486-0307