Center for International Students and Scholars

The Center for International Students and Scholars (CISS) serves as a hub for international students and visiting scholars to receive immigration support and engage in intercultural programs and activities. Housed within the Center are International Student & Scholar Services (ISSS), Intercultural Programs and Support, and the University of Connecticut American English Language Initiative (UCAELI).

ISSS supports the greater internationalization of the University of Connecticut through the development and delivery of services and programs that help our international  students, scholars, faculty and staff accomplish their academic and professional goals at UConn. ISSS serves as the resource for academic and administrative units in the collaboration, hiring and sponsorship of international students, scholars, faculty and staff. It also provides on-going orientation and support services in a welcoming environment designed to foster cultural adjustment to the U.S.

Advisors counsel international students and scholars on a variety of immigration/visa issues such as Practical Training, Change of Status, Program Extensions, Leave of Absence, Reduced Course Load and Employment authorizations. International Advisors are available to meet by appointment. Learn More...

International Student & Scholar Services Team Members

Arthur GalinatArthur Galinat
Director
arthur.galinat@uconn.edu

Jennifer KingJennifer King
Assistant Director Operations
jennifer.king@uconn.edu

Catherine BarachkovaCatherine Barachkova
International Scholar Advisor
ekaterina.
barachkova@uconn.edu

Nadine BoudissaNadine Boudissa
International Advisor
nadine.boudissa@uconn.edu

Annie CasarellaAnnie Casarella
International Advisor
annie.casarella@uconn.edu

Lulu DongLulu Dong
International Advisor
lulu.dong@uconn.edu

Dana FosterDana Foster
International Services Coordinator
dana.foster@uconn.edu

Neena KapoorNeena Kapoor
International Advisor
neena.kapoor@uconn.edu

Benjamin KohanskiBenjamin Kohanski
International Services Specialist
benjamin.kohanski@uconn.edu

Leslie LawrenceLeslie Lawrence
International Advisor
leslie.lawrence@uconn.edu

Eddie PavliscsakEddie Pavliscsak
International Services Specialist
edward.pavliscsak@uconn.edu

Huong PhamHuong Pham
International Advisor
huong.pham@uconn.edu

Natalia TurgeonNatalia Turgeon
Front Office Coordinator
international@uconn.edu

Amna BesirevicAmna Besirevic
Student Worker
international@uconn.edu

Sara BrukoSara Bruko
Student Worker
international@uconn.edu

Sarah ColliasSarah Collias
Student Worker
international@uconn.edu

David DongDavid Dong
Student Worker
international@uconn.edu

Hazuki InamineHazuki Inamine
Student Worker
international@uconn.edu

Chorok (Bella) KangChorok (Bella) Kang
Student Worker
international@uconn.edu

Virag KornissVirag Korniss
Student Worker
international@uconn.edu

Biao WangBiao Wang
Student Worker
international@uconn.edu

Remley WhitakerRemley Whitaker
Student Worker
international@uconn.edu

Yuria YamamotoYuria Yamamoto
Student Worker
international@uconn.edu

UConn American English Language Institute

The University of Connecticut American English Language Initiative (UCAELI) offers language programming for learners who want to study or improve their English for professional or personal goals. The Institute has provided quality English instruction to more than 3,000 students from countries throughout the world since 1990. It has since aided in maximizing students’ access to educational, cultural, and community resources as well. UCAELI also provides its students and community with opportunities for international experiences and learning through diverse interactions with others. To uncover more about this program, learn more... 

Team Members

Jeannie SlaytonJeannie Slayton, Ph.D.
Director
jeannie.slayton@uconn.edu

Ana Colon-WallaceAna Colón-Wallace
Educational Program Assistant
ana.s.colon@uconn.edu

Intercultural Programs and Support

Intercultural Programs and Support (IPS) encourages the development of critical intercultural competence and inclusion of students, faculty, and staff by engaging in conversations and promoting analytical and reflective behaviors to deepen understanding of cultures. The program aims to maximize students’ access to educational, cultural, and community resources.  

Team Members

Jeannie SlaytonJeannie Slayton, Ph.D.
Director
jeannie.slayton@uconn.edu